My favourite foursome: salmon+butter+majoram and rosmary

One of the weird things in Sweden is that salmon is cheaper than chicken. I mean way cheaper. I have never eaten so much salmon in my life than here up north. Don’t get me wrong I am not complaining…I like it a lot. I first tried it a couple of years ago, my Mom baked it with butter and it was delicious. So since I am here I got pretty pro in cooking/baking salmon (pro in my beginner level…just to make sure we understand each other:). I just love it with majoram and rosemary…especially rosemary, cause I love the English word ‘rosemary’, it sounds beautiful.:)

I believe it slightly tastes better when you bake it, but takes more time…so it is up to you. (10 min and 22-25 min). I usually serve it with potato, but sometimes I make salad with sour creme+garlic sauce which makes the whole dish even better.

!salmon-butter

salmon-butter

You can check out the whole recipe on this prezi link, or just continue to read here:)

My favorite foursome: salmon+butter+majoram and rosemary

What we need:

  • salmon – 1 piece/person is usually enough ingredients-salmon
  • 2-3 spoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil – optional
  • 3 colves garlic – peeled and chopped
  • majoram
  • rosemary
  • salt and pepper
  • lemon

 

1) First I always make the salmon ready. Use the skin side (or where the skin used to be, you can always see that, a bit darker). Put salt on it and pepper. Here comes a hint of rosemary and majoram.

2) Get a nice big frying pan and heat the butter gently. When the butter melted and bubbles, check whether it if it’s hot enough (with a piece of garlic) pour in all the  garlic, stir it for 1-2 minutes.salmon

3) Place salmon on top of butter, skin side down. Now you can season the top side too. Once again, salt, pepper, majoram and rosemary. As you can see on this photo, you can season it bravely. Add some lemon juice on the top and around of it.

 

4) The secret is that an average thick salmon (2-3cm) does not need to be cooked for more that 8-10 minutes or it will lose its grate taste. So turn it after 4-5 minutes.  And give it another round.

5) You are done. Serve it with potatoes, vegetables or salad.

Hope you like it as much as We do!:)


So what you have to look out in my experiences:

– As I mentioned before, salmon has a great taste if you do not over cook/over bake  it. A great way to check if its ready: get a knife and place it between the layers of the flesh. If it is dark pink it means its raw. It should be very light pink inside – than it is ready.

– It can stick to the pan a bit so move it from time to time, don’t just let it rest there:)

2 thoughts on “My favourite foursome: salmon+butter+majoram and rosmary

Leave a Reply

