First sweet, finally – sour cherry sponge cake

In general I don’t have a sweet tooth, I prefer baking them than eating sweets (not like my boyfriend)  but I like cakes with fruits, especially with sour cherry. Plus this is the cake I first learned how to bake when I was around 15. I never cooked, but I remember baking this typical Hungarian cake several times.  I think there are so many steps where a sponge cake can be ruined (like my most obvious one in this case: forgetting the baking powder…I did…really.) so I will make an entire post about the most important rules of sponge cake,but more on that later. So this time I forgot to add the baking powder, as you can see they are flat, but still tasted great so I don’t care, I am still proud enough to post it:)

cherry-sponge-ckae

What we need:

  •  8 spoons of floursour-cherry-sponge-cake
  • 6 spoons of sugar
  • 6 spoons of water
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • sour cherry
  • baking powder!
  • 1 pack of vanilla sugar

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C and put the sour cherry into a colander so it won’t be so wet till you use it.
  2. Take two bowl and first mix only the egg yolks with the sugar. They say you should mix it for 15 minutes, I am never that patient so I usually stop it after 5-6 minutes (do not follow me). After 2-3 minutes start adding the water spoon by spoon. The whole mix will double its volume close to the end of mixing.
  3. Now add gradually the flour, baking powder and the vanilla sugar, lose the kitchen mixer and just stir it well.egg-whites
  4. Get the cleaned and dry beater and mix the egg whites for about 2-3 minutes with a pinch of salt. The salt will help you to get a whip easier. It must be very thick and the tips of the whites should stand straight up when the beaters are lifted.
  5. Now you have to fold these two together very carefully. (What folding means and how to do it properly is explained here: Lecture 101: Do You speak kitchen?) First add half of the egg yolks mixture to the egg whites, fold it together than add the other half and repeat, do not over-mix it. They do not have to be 100% mixed!sour-cherry-sponge-cake
  6. Now butter a pan and spread the batter evenly into it. Get the sour  cherries and put them on the top. Put it into the over for about 15 minutes. Use a sharp knife to check if its done.

Hope you like it as much as We do!:)


So what you have to look out in my experiences:

– when you are mixing the egg whites you also don’t have to over mix it…when it is really thick you are done.

– really take care when you are folding the batter together with the egg whites.

– do not forget the baking powder, like I did:)

Leave a Reply

